YouTube without an Internet Connection

Ever teach in a class where you do not have an Internet connection, yet still want to show a relevant clip from YouTube? That’s happened to me numerous times.

For example, today I wanted to show my Public Speaking students how not  to give an impromptu speech. Miss Teen South Carolina’s answer to why so many Americans can’t find the US on a map came to mind. But, alas, I’m not teaching Public Speaking in a “smart classroom” this semester.

Try Tooble. Tooble will help you take a YouTube clip and convert it to an MP4 file, which you can show offline in class. I borrowed the PC projector from our Comm Arts office and brought in my own laptop. I showed the file to my students without a hitch.

3 responses to “YouTube without an Internet Connection

  1. Pingback: Would You Rather . . . : Impromptu Speaking with a Twist « Learner-Centered Teaching

  2. Pingback: Public Relations Matters » Blog Archive » Powerful PowerPoint Presentations

  3. Miss Teen South Carolina answered that question badly, but she’s still got her looks to fall back on…

Leave a Reply

